Mapa Chipre






Country name: Republic of Cyprus (the Turkish Cypriot area refers to itself as the "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus").

Capital: Nicosia.

Government type: republic.

Note: a disaggregation of the two ethnic communities inhabiting the island began following the outbreak of communal strife in 1963; this separation was further solidified after the Turkish intervention in July 1974 after a Greek junta-based coup attempt gave the Turkish Cypriots de facto control in the north; Greek Cypriots control the only internationally recognized government; on 15 November 1983 Turkish Cypriot "President" Rauf DENKTASH declared independence and the formation of a "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" (TRNC), recognized only by Turkey; both sides publicly support a settlement based on a federation (Greek Cypriot position) or confederation (Turkish Cypriot position).

Independence: 16 August 1960 (from UK); note - Turkish Cypriot area proclaimed self-rule on 13 February 1975.

Administrative divisions: 6 districts; Famagusta, Kyrenia, Larnaca, Limassol, Nicosia, Paphos; note - Turkish Cypriot area's administrative divisions include Kyrenia, all but a small part of Famagusta, and small parts of Lefkosia (Nicosia) and Larnaca.

Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea (after Sicily and Sardinia).

Terrain: central plain with mountains to north and south; scattered but significant plains along southern coast.

Total area: 9,250 km² (of which 3,355 km² are in the Turkish Cypriot area).

Coastline: 648 km.

Highest point: Olympus 1,951 m.

Climate: temperate; Mediterranean with hot, dry summers and cool winters.

Environment - current issues: water resource problems (no natural reservoir catchments, seasonal disparity in rainfall, sea water intrusion to island's largest aquifer, increased salination in the north); water pollution from sewage and industrial wastes; coastal degradation; loss of wildlife habitats from urbanization .

Ports and harbors: Famagusta, Kyrenia, Larnaca, Limassol, Paphos, Vasilikos.




Europa Viagem


Até 1960, Chipre era uma colônia britânica, quando conquistou sua independência. Tensões entre os cipriotas gregos e os cipriotas turcos resultaram em conflitos, em 1963. No ano seguinte, uma força de paz da ONU instalou-se na Ilha, mas os conflitos continuaram.

Em 1983, a área ocupada pelos cipriotas turcos proclamaram a República Turca de Chipre do Norte, reconhecida apenas pela Turquia. Em 2004, toda a Ilha passou a fazer parte da União Europeia e negociações entre as comunidades gregas e turcas do Chipre continuam em andamento.

População: 1,2 milhões de habitantes (2016).




Aphrodite's birthplace, Cyprus



Pafos Byzantine Fort, Kato Pafos harbor, Cyprus.



Rock formations and sandy coves in Cape Grecko, Ammochostos region, Cyprus.


Imagens Mediterraneo


Aphrodite's birthplace. The Goddess of Love and Beauty emerged from the sea foam at Petra tou Romiou, south coast of Cyprus.




Cape Grecko, Cyprus



Copyright © Guia Geográfico - Países Europeus, roteiro de viagem.


Pafos Medieval Fort